Spread the love

Two members of the Federal House of Representatives have both decamped from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and People’s Democratic Party (PDP) to other political parties. Akinlaja Joseph who represents Ondo East/West Federal Constituency of Ondo state and Olatoye Temitope representing Lagelu/Akinyele Federal Constituency of Oyo state announced their defection on the floor of the House on Thursday, October 18.

The lawmaker from Ondo state defected to the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) while his colleague Temitope moved to the Action Democratic Party (ADP). The defection of the duo is the first since the House resumed from a two-month recess. Meanwhile, zolex  had reported that the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, declared Kankia/Kusada and Toro Federal Constituencies of Katsina and Bauchi states vacant.

It was learnt that Dogara earlier said he was not in a hurry to declare the seats vacant. The declaration is coming as a result of the swearing-in of two members of the House: Ahmed Babba-Kaita and Lawal Gumau as senators by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki. Kaita represented Kankia/Kusada Federal Constituency of Katsina state while Gumau represented Toro federal constituency of Bauchi state.

Image result for House of Reps+Nigeria

The duo were elected as senators after the demise of the former occupants of the seats. The late senators, Bukar Mustapha and Ali Wakili, died earlier in 2018.


  1. I simply want to mention I am just all new to blogs and really savored your web site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with fabulous articles. Regards for sharing with us your website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here